Door County, Wisconsin (Popeye at the Fish Broil, Cheesecake, and Egg Harbor)

29 Aug

What’s up Meebsies?

Another Door County post for you guys. Hope you are all having a great rest of your summer. ^^

Off topic, but for those who are wondering what the heck happened to the giveaway. It will have to be REALLY postponed. I thought that I sent out a tweet about it, but I guess not. 😦 I’m really sorry guys, but my life has been really hectic. Really hectic. I promise the giveaway will be extremely amazing. ^_^ Please have patience with me.

I highly suggest going to a fish broil while you are in Door County. I know that many people have gone to the more common fish fry. You can tell from the name that a fish broil is where the food is broiled in water instead of being fried. After talking to a few locals, we were told that the Old Post Office is where you should go to get a good broil experience. It’s also one of the few places where they de-bone your fish for you! Make sure you place a reservation ahead of time because they fill up fast. ^^

You guys are probably wondering, what’s up with the title Meebs? Before the fish broil, we meet the broil master. He’s pretty awesome and doesn’t he look like Popeye? Lol.

See. Don’t they look alike? ^_^

Back to the broil. They first start off by heating up the water.

When everything is almost done cooking. He lights the whole pot on fire by pouring on gasoline. O.O

FINISHED PRODUCT!!! YUMMY!!!

This is what it looks like when they debone the fish.

For dessert, they have BOMB homemade cherry pie and vanilla ice cream. ^^

Went shopping/sightseeing in Egg Harbor. It’s so beautiful here. There is always something about a little town that puts your heart at peace.

Met a new friend. ^^

Stopped at the Pink Bakery for a snack.

First thing I saw when I walked in. BOOTY COOKES!!! ><

Even though booty cookies looked good. I went with the more conservative cookie sandwich. Lol. ^_^

PANDA PAW FUDGE?!?!?!? WHAAA??? ^_^

Egg Harbor is full of little boutiques, cafes, and restaurants.  Great for exploring and shopping.

Yummy mango gelato.

Would you eat a box for 20 bucks?

Last stop is some cheesecake. ^^

The owner told us that his baker trained in New York. I can see it paid off. Soo pretty that you don’t even want to eat it.

I can’t have cheesecake, so I had lactose free ice cream and waffles with…

cherry juice; because Door County is known for their cherry juice. ^^

Lastly a picture of me at our private beach/dock. ^_^

Have a great day!!!

Meebs

“No one realizes how beautiful it is to travel until he comes home and rests his head on his old, familiar pillow.”

~ Lin Yutang

2 Responses to “Door County, Wisconsin (Popeye at the Fish Broil, Cheesecake, and Egg Harbor)”

  1. Jen September 5, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    All your pictures of food have me drooling! Especially that cherry pie. And the cookies. And the waffles. What can I say, I have a sweet tooth. 😛

    • Meebsie's World September 5, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

      Sweet Tooth Buddy!!! ^^ Can’t help but to love sugar.

Leave a Reply

